Our Approach

We follow the Early Years Foundation Stage statutory framework, and the Development Matters in Early Years Foundation Stage non statutory guidance. There are three prime areas of learning and four specific areas:

Three Prime:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

And four specific areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understand the world
  • Expressive arts and design

Alongside these are the characteristics of learning:

Playing and Exploring – children investigate, experience things and ‘have a go’
Active Learning – children concentrate, keep on trying if they encounter difficulties and enjoy achievements
Creating and thinking critically – children have and develop their own ideas, make links between ideas and develop strategies for doing things

We work closely in partnership with parents, professionals and other settings.